10
May
13

Hiring people

Hiring people can be an incredibly humbling experience. After recruiting full-time people for Gharpay for over two years, I’ve learnt how wrong even second impressions or gut feelings can be. People I fought hard to hire turned out to be lackluster while ones I rejected, shone.

The smartest of people can be impossible to work, while an unimpressive resume might hide the extraordinary discipline and determination a person has. Having a judgmental lens over your eyes means you only see what you are looking for, which might not even matter in the future.

I love this quote by Jenna Lyons of J Crew, “When I was young and people judged me for things I had no control over, that was really hard, so I’m incredibly open to people doing whatever works for them.”. That is exactly how I want to treat people.


1 Response to “Hiring people”


  1. May 20, 2013 at 2:33 am

    Great thought! Over time, I learnt to have an honest conversation first and then use the resume for final due diligence.


Leave a comment


AddThis Social Bookmark Button
"I rarely end up where I was intending to go, but often I end up somewhere that I needed to be." - Douglas Adams

Love me? Subscribe to me!

Recent bookmarks