29
Apr
13

Why I am an atheist

I’m an atheist and a Hindu (better known as a nastik). I’ve been asked by more than one person about how can I live my life if I’m an atheist and there’s no afterlife or divine purpose. After a general stare of bewilderment, it hits me that the other person is actually looking for answer.

I say, nothing matters! Absolutely nothing that we do matters and there are no long term consequences to my actions, thoughts or beliefs! And the cherry on top, nobody’s looking at us and judging us! Holy shit! Absolutely nothing I do can fuck up the universe or the world. Is this the real life or is this just fantasy?

How are these not reasons enough to have fun, do exactly what you feel like or think and live a life that you’ve always wanted.

EDIT:

I realize that my actions have an impact on happiness or unhappiness of other people. So being an atheist isn’t a passport to assholecountry.

3 Responses to “Why I am an atheist”


  1. April 29, 2013 at 4:19 am

    I think you leave a bar a bit high for what ‘matters’ and for ‘long term consequences,’ but perhaps these terms mean more to you than they do to me. If nothing else fun matters, but so does that of others, even that of the next generation. Cosmic justice is bullshit, but that is hardly a standard to give a damn about.

  2. 2 Abhishek
    April 29, 2013 at 4:31 am

    Thanks for your comment and passing by my blog. To answer your question, I’m beginning to think that the way I think about atheism is because I was born a Hindu to my Hindu parents,to whom cosmic justice and cosmic righteousness mattered a lot more than effects on immediate family/friends. Interestingly somebody else pointed this out on Quora: http://www.quora.com/Atheism/What-is-the-point-of-living-if-you-are-an-atheist/answer/Abhishek-Nayak/comment/2049371

    I can’t recollect a single instance of my parent’s advice where they gave an personal example, everything was somehow connected to other people. So you could never say that you did something without taking into account potential repercussions on other people. I’ve been reprimanded for littering in a way that I can never do it without feeling guilty but I simply can’t remember if it was my parents or my cousins who actually convinced me never, ever to litter.


Leave a Reply

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
"I rarely end up where I was intending to go, but often I end up somewhere that I needed to be." - Douglas Adams

Love me? Subscribe to me!

Recent bookmarks

Thought stream


