24
Oct
09

twenty one

The Tale of Two Cities during the French Revolution saw, ‘The best of times…the worst of times…the age of wisdom…the age of foolishness…’

Dickens’ just about describes my recent past and impending future. I’m writing this with six days to go before I turn twenty two. I’ll call twenty-one the most extraordinary year of my life. I took some adult decisions and did some adult things the past year, but I’m fairly certain I’ve not grown up. Growing up is my resolution for next year.

Looking back at the year with rose tinted glasses:

1. I grew a pair of balls and dropped a semester to figure out my future

2. Went on a fulfilling Grassroutes trip to Pochampally with good friends

3. I worked for nearly seven months at New Energy Finance, which was an enriching experience.

4. I had the time of my life in Hyderabad and enjoyed spending my own money for everything

5. I spent two dream weeks travelling across Switzerland

6. Attended a life-changing St Gallen Symposium

7. Dated a beautiful-beautiful girl I met on a flight

8. Joined the policy team of the Indian youth delegation to the UN Climate Change Conference at Copenhagen

9. Had a fun trip to Copenhagen for five days with two of my favorite people in the world

10. Fell in love with the low carbon and new energy sector

11. Fought some of my weaknesses and lost

12. Made a lot of good friends throughout the year who I hope will continue to be in my life

All of the above have fortunately or unfortunately left indelible marks on my life and self. Although I can’t see how could I ever top twenty one, I can only hope that twenty two will be just as eventful.

I remember a time when I was around fourteen-fifteen and I would spend hours trying to imagine what it was like to be an adult. I don’t think I ever thought it would be more complicated than adolscence. But it is.

0 Responses to “twenty one”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
"I rarely end up where I was intending to go, but often I end up somewhere that I needed to be." - Douglas Adams

Love me? Subscribe to me!

Recent bookmarks

Thought stream


