27
Jun
08

Connecting the dots

This year is my sister’s time to start college. Which means heated discussions on which college should be chosen, which branch ‘will be good for her’, which college has a ‘better brand’, etc, by my parents and relatives. Sometimes I’m asked for my opinion and sometimes my sister is also asked for hers. Its more heated because it involves choosing between the venerable IITs, BITS, IT-Bhu and NITs. My very knowledgeable relatives believe no matter what, an IIT should be choosen. After all there’s a completely different charm to studying in a ‘branded institution’ even if it is coming up in a single leased building(IIT-Hyd) or in a non-existent campuses(IIT-Jaipur, IIT-Bhubaneshwar, IIT-Punjab). IT-BHU or the NITs are not an option. And God forgive me, no BITS.

The reasoning? “When you go out of India, nobody will recognise whether you are from KIT, Junnabhai college or BITS. Only when you say IIT they will recognise.”

I being the polite types totally did everybody a favor by not asking them to ‘fuck off’. I just said “No new college. I have nothing against the IITs. I really don’t care, let my sister pick.”

“No your sister is too young. She doesn’t know anything. You should listen to your father.”

I again did not ask them to fuck off. But I think I saw my sister mouthing out those words. My father looked even more confused, here was a 30+ yr old Top 10 US MBA relative telling him to ignore his 20 yr old son, studying sciences and doing god knows what. Luckily my sister spoke up soon. She refused to study again in any college that exists in a building(IIT-Hyd, Narayana Jr. College). And said she’ll take Electrical or Mechanical in IT-BHU. And then talked about how you cannot predict success or failure by just looking at a college and ‘how you cannot connect the dots looking into the future'(Yes she had watched Steve Jobs’ Stanford commencement speech the day before). I was so glad I had shipped my computer home. And then I realized she had understood the sentence better than I had. I was so proud.

update: She’s coming to PIlani for Finance! B.Tech Mechanical at IT-BHU(or IIT-BHU rather) was dropped.

7 Responses to “Connecting the dots”


  1. June 27, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    shit man! IT-BHU!! how could you let her go there?!?!

  2. 2 Abhishek
    June 27, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    I cried a little on my inside. But she can’t get anything she wants in Pilani.

  3. July 7, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Best of Luck to her.

  4. July 7, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Am so proud you did too. There’s just a tinge of jealousy: where were my brains when I was in college?

    It’s really funny at times though: the other day we were at a lunch table and someone (let’s call him Asok) mentions he is from an IIT. Just a hint of pride. Just a subtle flavor of obvious intellect. I beamed. Gave him the obligatory salute with my eyes that every IITian deserves.

    Unfortunately; this being Europe, someone had to ask “Is that a University in India?”

  5. July 21, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    don’t worry abhishek IT-BHU will be an IIT by the end of the year !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. July 21, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Hey abhishek don’t worry ……IT-BHU will be an IIT by the end of the year …………!!!!!!!

  7. July 25, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    I notice how the above comment by sandip: his excitement(denoted by the number of exclaimation marks) decreased by a respectable amount when he repeated his comment.


Leave a Reply

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
"I rarely end up where I was intending to go, but often I end up somewhere that I needed to be." - Douglas Adams

Love me? Subscribe to me!

Recent bookmarks

Thought stream


