12
Jun
08

Reading list in Hyderabad

Every Sunday Abids and Koti market streets of Hyderabad turn into streets for second-hand and pirated books. Last Sunday I splurged on buying books to read for the summer. Since I hardly read any books(academic, non-academic) during the semester, summer’s the time to get educated.

So I bought the following books:

1. Three National Geographic Magazines of 1999.

2. Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri

3. The enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie

4. The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins

5. The Art of Innovation: Success Through Innovation the IDEO Way by Thomas Kelley

6. The 22 Immutable Laws of Branding by Al Ries and Laura Ries

I started with Jhumpa Lahiri’s book, but the attention to tiny details is getting in her way of telling a story. I think its the detail to describing a Bengali lifestyle in the US that’s brought her the success. Its exotic stuff. I’ve reached page 40 and I hope I like it better in the next pages. I also flipped through ‘The God Delusion’, since I had been wanting to read it since early 2007. The introduction gave me an impression that atheist or not, Richard Dawkins is surely full of himself. His arguments are sometimes compelling, while sometimes appear to be an attempt to ridicule without basis of facts. And very frequently he uses the term ‘I’. My views on religion will put me in the ‘Deist‘ group, which means I believe in a supernatural power that gave us the laws of nature, but does not participate or interfere in life. I recently heard Bacon’s quote on God which said he believed in God because it was ‘optimal’, if God existed he would be rewarded, while if God didn’t, no harm. But not believing doesn’t give any possibility of a reward. I like his idea too.

2 Responses to “Reading list in Hyderabad”


  1. June 12, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I don’t think a supernatural deity if there is one would like knowing that you worshipped him only because you thought “it can’t hurt”. He would infact prefer it more that you didn’t believe in him , than believe in him for the wrong reasons.

    Read the whole of Dawkin’s book and then see how he destroys any argument you could think of.

  2. 2 Abhishek
    June 13, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I said I don’t believe in a deity or even a supernatural power that participates or interferes in life. Of Dawkins will destroy any argument I can think of. He’s a clever guy and he’s obviously spent lots more time than me on this subject :).

    Interestingly you seem to be sure about the gender of this God person. He, Him? Lol


Leave a Reply

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
"I rarely end up where I was intending to go, but often I end up somewhere that I needed to be." - Douglas Adams

Love me? Subscribe to me!

Recent bookmarks

Thought stream


