04
Apr
08

O Magazines, Where Art Thou?

Just thumbing through the latest issue of The Week and BusinessWorld had me thinking about how boring, dry, replaceable and frankly, useless, these weekly magazines have become. I agree I do not have the best examples of magazine journalism in front of me, but am I delusional to think that, once upon a time, magazines had good readable stories? I actually remember looking forward to reading the latest Outlook or India Today. Today, they are vents for their egoist and commercial editors. Where are the knowledgeable columnists and writers? Even the very writing style makes it a little painful to completely read articles. Recently one article which truly touched me was on a Chennai book fair written by somebody called T Murali. It was two pages on absolutely nothing, just a tiny book fair graced by Karunanidhi. But man, it was such a pleasure. I Googled him up, but couldn’t find anything and he hasn’t written anything for The Week since. But I’m hanging on!

I remember, when Tarun Tejpal, Sandipan Deb, Pankaj Mishra used to write for Outlook, it was a pleasure to read. They among others, were a great influence on me a decade ago. Today Outlook is rubbish, India Today more so. The internet has made them even more unreadable. If all I was looking for was news and statistics, I would read the newspaper or Google.

From a magazine, I’m looking for opinions, ideas and importantly causes. Any magazine with that on the editor’s mind?

3 Responses to “O Magazines, Where Art Thou?”


  1. April 4, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    all magazines = smut

  2. April 4, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Thank you aniche for summarizing my post. Are you a logic gate by any chance?

  3. 3 Shravya
    April 6, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    True that magazines have bland and dull, ironically, as they seem to be glamorizing the world for the readers to buy them. Cover stories on trivial issues and random tidbits render them useless.


Leave a Reply

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
"I rarely end up where I was intending to go, but often I end up somewhere that I needed to be." - Douglas Adams

Love me? Subscribe to me!

Recent bookmarks

Thought stream


