20
Oct
07

Speaking at the FORTUNE Global Forum, representing 18-21yr olds of India

I’ve been invited as a panelist for a discussion on youth at the FORTUNE Global Forum. Here’s a intro to the conference.

FORTUNE Global Forum brings top CEOs together with heads of state and leading thinkers to exchange views on the most pressing issues global businesses face. The FORTUNE Global Forum at New Delhi will go beyond the meeting room to provide a better understanding of the economic, political, social, and cultural dimensions of a country that is both intriguing and contradictory.

To ensure the highest level of discussion, participation is by invitation only and limited to the chairmen, CEOs, and presidents of major multinational corporations.Top-caliber guests, global representation, a strategically focused program led by FORTUNE editors, a variety of interactive formats, and the intimate scale are what make the FORTUNE Global Forum the premier summit for the world’s leading chief executives.

A few speakers confirmed for the forum are:
1. L N Mittal of Mittal Steel
2. Azim Premji of Wipro
3. Nandan Nilekani of Infosys
4. Kiran Mazumdar Shaw of Biocon
5. Shashi Tharoor Former Under Secretary General for Communications and Public Information, United Nations
6. Michael Dell of Dell Computers
7. John Chambers of Cisco
8. Montek Singh Ahluwalia Deputy-Chairman, Indian Planning Commission
9. Kishore Biyani, MD of Pantaloon retail
10. Malvinder Mohan Singh, CEO of Ranbaxy Laboratories

11. Vivek Paul, MD of Texas Pacific

I’ll be attending the Roundtable titled INDIA IN FOCUS: SNAPSHOTS OF AN EVOLVING CULTURE. I’m a part of the panel discussion which aims to understand the current young generation’s aspirations, dreams and attitudes. It will be moderated by Barkha Dutt. The description of the panel discussion is ” The conclusion presents a rare opportunity for national and global business executives to hear first-hand from the latest generation—18-21 year olds—representing the demographic majority in India. How ready are you to deal with this new generation as consumers? Joining your workforce? What are their aspirations and dreams and how are they different from children raised in the pre-liberalization era?”

There are very few conferences which talk about business and also give youngsters a chance to speak. Its awesome that Fortune is doing this. It is such a welcome change! It excites me to think I will be representing my generation on a platform as huge as this. I’m making a (long)list of things I want to talk about.

I would really like to know what you think I should talk about. Please add comments or mail me at nayak.abhishek@gmail.com or call me at 09983526558. Articles to read are welcome too.

To torture a cliche, Your voice matters!

ps: If you are in Pilani, try this link for the FORTUNE Conferences.

10 Responses to “Speaking at the FORTUNE Global Forum, representing 18-21yr olds of India”


  1. 1 voice
    October 21, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Yes, it is indeed a welcome change! Being a student myself, I can relate to the often frustrating phases that the youth of our country has to go through. We are a very underestimated bunch of people whose causes have always taken a backseat. It seems like the youth has sooo much to say, so much to contribute, so much to offer and change yet their voice is hardly ever represented, let alone giving them a chance. It all seems to head towards a dead end. There’s no question, the youth of India has very strong academic background. We’re among the best of the best. Our undergrads continue to make it to the top institutes such as MIT and Harvard. We have the competitive edge to make things happen. We have enough drive to significantly influence the national economy if not the world economy. Thus it is very disheartening to see the attitude of the society towards the youth. The passion, the hardships, the commitment and determination of youth is never quite focused upon, never quite applauded. And there aren’t many tools that are dedicated to motivate us. Thus, it is a welcome change to finally see our cause to the table. If I were you, my message would be simple: the youth has a lot of potential! Please don’t let it go to waste! Use them to your advantage! Support the youth in their dreams and aspirations and let’s work with them together towards a better tomorrow.

  2. October 22, 2007 at 1:08 am

    Right on Mate. Shine On!! Do well.

  3. 3 xztheericzx
    November 9, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    i’m eric. joining a couple boards and looking
    forward to participating. hehe unless i get
    too distracted!

    eric

  4. 4 Soothepesmorm
    April 11, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Hello my friends 🙂
    😉

  5. April 20, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    I received a card statement yesterday, and discovered that there was an unauthorized charge from the InfoSys Technologies LLC in the amount of $11.98
    I wanted to resolve the problem and called their customer support number 517-639-0760, but I reached their answering machine.
    From the message I found out that the best way to contact them would be through e-mail support@infosystemplates.net
    I wrote a letter about my problem to the noted e-mal address, and within 5 minutes I received a reply that the situation will be reviewed, and in about 5-6
    hours, I will receive a notice to my e-mail, and then, during 72 hours will be a refund.
    Today I have received a refund and want to take back all the claims for InfoSys Technologies LLC.
    The mistake was corrected very quickly, and they have shown themselves as a serious business partners.
    Besides, I got a free version of their software as compensation.
    Good work, keep it up!

  6. May 18, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Who know a web-site where there is a Instrumental music for free?? I have seen all Internet. Do or die, guys!

  7. 7 Boypontatry
    February 1, 2010 at 4:34 am

    Hi I just registered to this great place abhishake.wordpress.com . I would like to ask for your opinion.
    Can you tell me please do you do forex and if yes what forex agent do you use?
    Do you know of some trusted ones?

    Thanks in advance for your answers.

    P.S. Sorry if I have posted to wrong section this but as you can notice I am newbie here.

  8. May 4, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    There is evidently a lot to know about this. I believe you made some nice points in features also.Keep functioning ,splendid job! portable sewing machine tables

  9. April 7, 2012 at 3:56 am

    http://mer759.narod2.ru Corel Enamel Shop Pro Photo X3 — отличный круг ради цифровой фотостудии.


Leave a Reply

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
"I rarely end up where I was intending to go, but often I end up somewhere that I needed to be." - Douglas Adams

Love me? Subscribe to me!

Recent bookmarks

Thought stream


