16
Jun
07

Recently consumed.

 

I’m a voracious reader. Whenever I’m doing nothing, I’m reading. So the past three weeks in Chennai cut off from the world without internet connection, I’ve consumed six books.

1. Ludmila’s Broken English by DBC Pierre
Quite funny. The kind of fiction I wish I could write. The story is about mixing of two cultures.
2. It Happened in India, the story of Pantaloons, Big bazaar, Central and the Great Indian consumer by Kishore Biyani
Just has to be read! Kishore Biyani is like Sam Walton of NA. The book has a very distinctive style, written as a cocktail of interviews from colleagues and friends of Kishore Biyani and words from Kishore Biyani.
3. iWoz, Steve Wozniak
No questions about this book, has to be read again and again! The amazing thing is Steve Jobs is mentioned not more than 5-6 times. I had always thought of Woz as a sidekick to Jobs more than anything. Now I realize, he’s the guy created Apple computers.
4. iCon, Steve Jobs- The greatest second act in the history of business, by Jeffery Young and William Simon
Not very well written. But I think this is the only neutrally written book on the life of Steve Jobs, so read it just for the sake of his history. I now know why people think Steve Jobs invented the PC and not Wozniak. It was a PR strategy!
5. Genome, The autobiography of a species in 23 chapters by Matt Ridley
Gifted to me by my cousin. Ridley makes a whole story out of our genes. Definitely not a scientific read! I hated it.
6. The Dilbert Principle, by Scott Adams
The most hilarious book ever! What sarcasm. The subtle humor of Scott Adams is just unbeatable.

Next I’m going to read some Indian fiction. Possibly the ‘Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri’ or ‘ A Fine balance by Rohinton Mistry’. Somebody suggest more books.

Because I’m on a 468Kbps(Kilobits!) line, I couldn’t upload pictures. Check out http://abhishek.tumblr.com for images.

0 Responses to “Recently consumed.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
"I rarely end up where I was intending to go, but often I end up somewhere that I needed to be." - Douglas Adams

Love me? Subscribe to me!

Recent bookmarks

Thought stream


