18
Apr
07

Share Slides effortlessly!

Its been a long time since I’ve posted anything on this blog. Today I’ll talk about one of my favourite web 2.0 sites- Slideshare.net.Slideshare is a place where you can upload your powerpoint presentations and share the link of the presentations with others. Basically imagine you’ve got to speak at this conference, make a presentation. Now if its an awesome presentation, people will ask for a copy. Or most likely you would want people to look at your slides again for various reasons. The painful way is to take down email ids and promise to mail them all your slides. Slightly easier way is to give your mail id and then ask them mail to you. So you got to reply to a dozen mails. Not much fun.
The smart way is to upload it onto slideshare and share the link! Even if people forget the link, they can search for it using tags. Either way, its way more efficient than any other to share your slides.

For example check out the presentation I had made for Conquest.

Their application converts powerpoint into flash pages, which while makes them take longer to load, gives a nice interface and comfortable to use.

I am pretty addicted to the site, because its got lots of interesting stuff floating around. And now thay’ve also got this contest (with the great Guy Kawasaki on board) for the best Slideshow. That reminds me, please vote for me! I desperately need a new computer. An alienware is only going to be awesome.

I got a chance to talk to one of its founders, Amit Ranjan about Slideshare.net, when he had come to my university for giving a talk titled Challenges in Scaling & Globalization of a Web Application – The Slideshare Experience. Here’s the link to his presentaton.

I had a very good insight into the revenue models of web 2.0 and specifically slideshare.net. Before meeting Amit I had only thought it was again only content monetization or advertisements way of generating revenue. But apparently they have some interesting ideas to generate revenues.

So use slideshare, cause its really really useful and some amazing content online. Some of the coolest slides I’ve eevr come across are all on slideshare! Also don’t worry about your slides being stolen, because nobody can download your presentations, at least not yet. Amit revealed that they would soon make it possible to download presentations. But of course you can choose not to allow downloads.

And now for some selfless promotion. There’s this project we at CEL are working on. Its called the Parampara project and aims to create co-operatives or SHGs of women around Pilani. Currently we have created our first group at Garinda. below is a presentation, that you really have to see. Its for a good cause. And if you are interested, please contact me at nayak.abhishek@gmail.com. While monetary help would be awesome, a word or two of encouragement would be just as awesome :).

Love Slideshare.net? Gimme a comment!

Abhishek

1 Response to “Share Slides effortlessly!”


  1. April 22, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    If you ever want to hear a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this article for 4/5. Detailed info, but I just have to go to that damn yahoo to find the missed parts. Thank you, anyway!


Leave a Reply

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
"I rarely end up where I was intending to go, but often I end up somewhere that I needed to be." - Douglas Adams

Love me? Subscribe to me!

Recent bookmarks

Thought stream


